تأجير السيارات الكلاسيكية إسبانيا
in

إسبانيا بمقعدين: استئجار كلاسيكي في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع في معبد مرسيدس

النصوص والصور مرسيدس باجودا: جافير روماغوسا

هل تريد قراءة هذا المقال باللغة الاسبانية؟ انقر هنا.

تتمتع إسبانيا بمناظر رائعة يمكن مشاهدتها ، ومواقع تاريخية رائعة تستحق الزيارة ، وفن طهي رائع للاستمتاع - و- جنة البترول! - طرق رائعة تربطها جميعًا معًا ؛ متدفقة ومُصانة جيدًا وخالية من المرور والشرطة. ما هو أفضل من الاستمتاع بكل هذا في سيارة كلاسيكية قابلة للتحويل؟

بفضل "إسبانيا في مقعدين" (STS) ، a تأجير السيارات الكلاسيكية شركة مقرها بالقرب من مدريد ، تمكنا من القيام بذلك تمامًا ، حيث قمنا برحلة عطلة نهاية الأسبوع لمدة 3 أيام في بعض أفضل مناطق إسبانيا ، مقاطعتا سيغوفيا وغوادالاخارا الواقعة شمال شرق مدريد. يتكون أسطول STS من Alfa Spyder و Duetto ، وهي دعامة من Morgan Plus 4 ولكن رحلتنا كانت جوهرة التاج ، سيارة BRG Mercedes 250SL المعدنية الجميلة مع غطاء داخلي بيج وبني.

مع الاستفادة من محرك 280SL لاحقًا ودليل السرعة ، فإن المظهر الأنيق لسيارة Mercedes Grand Tourer سيثبت أنه المكان المثالي للرؤية والاطلاع. منذ البداية ، أضفت Pagoda شعورًا بالثقة والصلابة ، وقادرة على إدارة كل ما ألقينا به.

تأجير السيارات الكلاسيكية: مرسيدس باغودا

مغادرة في STS في غواداراما عند سفح سييرا دي مدريد في وقت مبكر من صباح يوم الجمعة ، توجهنا مباشرة إلى الجبال: الممر القديم فوق محطة التزلج في Puerto de Navacerrada ، والتي ترتفع إلى 1.800 متر. يؤدي هذا الطريق عبر غابات أشجار الصنوبر إلى الموقع الملكي لا جرانجا دي سان إلديفونسو ، عن طريق التسلق القوي والنزول من الانحناءات الضيقة التي تشمل بعض دبابيس الشعر ذات التروس الثانية. غطاء المحرك منخفض وسطح الطريق ممتاز لتشجيع السائق على الاستمتاع الصوت المجيد من مرسيدس ست سلندر الكلاسيكية ، والتي تبني سرعة مذهلة

النوافذ أعلى وغطاء محرك السيارة لأسفل ، باغودا يملأ سكانها المحظوظين بصلابته وحماية جيدة من الرياح إن Pagoda isn´ta هي السيارة الرياضية التي ترميها من مؤخرة العنق. إنه أمر ثقيل ومتردد في الاستجابة للمعاملة القاسية أو النقل السريع للوزن عند الانعطاف أو الكبح ، ولكن عندما يعاملك كما يعاملك ، ببراعة واحترام ، فإنه يجعل السرعة جيدة. السيارة مزروعة وتفعل ما تريد. يعد التوجيه ثقيلًا مقارنة بالسيارات الحديثة ولكنه لا يجهد السائق في دبابيس الشعر. يتم تذكيرنا مرة أخرى بأن متعة السيارة الكلاسيكية هي أنه عليك قيادتها ، وإمساك العجلة ، واختيار الترس المناسب ، وتكبح قبل الانحناءات ويتدفق الباغودا معك ، مما يكافئ الجهد المبذول.

صور: لويو / ديك أوبراين

في أقل من ساعة ، نصل إلى لا غرانجا ، وسط متعة القيادة في الهواء الطلق في هواء الجبل. يعد وضع الغطاء العلوي لتأمين السيارة أمرًا سهلاً للغاية ، لذلك نترك السيارة لمحبيها (سيكون هناك الكثير من المعجبين في نهاية هذا الأسبوع!) واذهب في نزهة على الأقدام.

لا جرانجا دي سان إيديلفونسو: Royal Summer Palace

في قاعدة الجبال على بعد حوالي 15 كم من سيغوفيا ، كان لا جرانجا دي سان إيدفونسو المقر الصيفي التقليدي للعائلة المالكة الإسبانية في القرنين الثامن عشر والتاسع عشر. نمت بلدة صغيرة حول القصر ، لإيواء المحكمة وزوار الصيف. على غرار إسبانيا في تلك الفترة ، التأثيرات الفرنسية والإيطالية تنعكس في أناقة العمارة. تتميز حدائق القصر بالنافورات الرائعة وتستضيف المدينة مصنعًا قديمًا للزجاج.

هناك ممتاز 'نزل' (سلسلة الفنادق الفخمة التراثية التي تديرها الدولة وفقًا لمعايير دولية عالية) في La Granja ، ولكن نظرًا لشعبيتها ، احجز مقدما.

الصور: سيرجيو روماغوسا

تأجير السيارات الكلاسيكية اسبانيا باغودا
عندما تعامل كما تعاملك ، ببراعة واحترام ، هذه السيارة تفعل ما تريد

في الجبال خارج مدريد ، بمناخها الشتوي البارد ، جميع اللحوم مرفوعة جيدًا ومطبوخة جيدًا، التخصص هو لحم الضأن المشوي والخنازير الرضيعة (ابحث عن المطاعم المميزة «البصق "، التي تتخصص في هذا ، ولكن تتوقع أجزاء كبيرة ...) ، وهنا يوجد أيضًا يخنة الفاصوليا الرائعة (حبوب المزرعة) التي يجب تجربتها ببساطة. في الصيف ، كان La Granja ملاذًا بعيدًا عن حرارة مدريد وسهل Castillian ، لذلك يتم الاستمتاع بالسلطات والأطباق الخفيفة في تناول الطعام في الهواء الطلق.

بإسقاط غطاء المحرك مرة أخرى ، يبدأ الباغودا للمرة الأولى كما كان دائمًا ونتجه إلى CL-601 إلى سيغوفيا ...

الصور: ديفيد كورال جاديا

سيغوفيا: موقع تراث عالمي

كيف تصف سيغوفيا؟ مذهلة وساحرة في نفس الوقت ، يعود تاريخ سيغوفيا إلى العصر الروماني وتعكس بصمات الثقافات المتنوعة التي ساهمت في تاريخها البالغ 2.000 عام. يتم تحديد الفترة الرومانية بالقناة الرائعة عند مدخل البلدة القديمة. يبلغ طول أبراج القناة 800 متر وارتفاعها 3 طوابق ، وهي أبراج فوق أحد أهم ساحات المدينة كدليل على مهارة وتصميم الرومان. يوجد أسفل القناة مباشرة مطعم Candido's ، وهو أشهر مطعم في سيغوفيا والذي كان يقدم الخنزير المشوي للزوار على مدى 3 أجيال.

يؤدي تسلق التل إلى المدينة القديمة (منطقة للمشاة بها متاجر وبارات ومطاعم مثيرة للاهتمام على طول الطريق) إلى الساحة الرئيسية الواسعة والصاخبة ، الكاتدرائية القوطية الضخمة على يسارك ومجموعة كبيرة من التراسات والمطاعم في كل مكان آخر ، سيناريو Gin and Tonic المثالي.

صور: سانتياغو لوبيز باستور

ترك هذا الإغراء في المساء ، ننتقل إلى الثلث من المباني الرمزية في سيغوفيا ، الكازار الرومانسي الرائع ، التي تقع على حافة المدينة ، تطفو فوق الوادي مثل خط المحيط العظيم. في حد ذاته موقع العديد من الأفلام ، تشعر أن هذه القلعة ذات الأبراج والخندق يجب (على الأقل جزئيًا) أن تكون قد أبلغت وجهة نظر ديزني للقلاع الخيالية.

وكما هو الحال في الأفلام ، نحن متعبون ولكن سعداء نعود إلى فندقنا ، للأسف ليس في المركز التاريخي لسيغوفيا ، وهو فندق حديث مع موقف سيارات آمن. بالكاد يمكننا ترك الباغودا الأنيقة تنام في الشوارع. على أي حال ، سوف يعوضنا بالكامل غدًا.

تأجير السيارات الكلاسيكية اسبانيا باغودا
أضفت الباغودا شعورًا بالثقة والصلابة ...

من المؤكد أننا في اليوم الثاني نأخذ باغودا إلى منطقة مجهولة ، وهي تلال غوادالاخارا (لا سيرانيا دي غوادالاخارا) ، وهي المنطقة الأقل اكتظاظًا بالسكان في إسبانيا ، وهي منطقة ضخمة ذات جمال طبيعي غير ملوث مع عدد قليل من الطرق عبرها وفيها القلب ، مدينة سيغوينزا القديمة ولكن غير المعروفة ، وجهتنا القادمة.

بعد مغادرة سيغوفيا ، من أعلى إلى أسفل مرة أخرى ، تخطو 250SL خطواتها على N-110 ، وهو طريق أسرع وأكثر ازدحامًا وأكثر انفتاحًا من الطرق الجبلية بالأمس. المعبد يحبها. هذا يدوي 4 سرعات ، لذا فهو أقل تروسًا للظروف الحديثة ، لكن السيارة تصل سرعتها إلى 120 كم / ساعة. الاتجاه الصعودي هو أن حركة المرور الأبطأ يتم تجاوزها بسهولة على جدار من الطاقة التي يتم توصيلها بمرونة. إنها ليست دراماتيكية ، لكنها فعالة وتعزز الفرامل الممتازة الشعور بالهندسة القوية والأداء الآمن.

في المجهول: The Serrania de Guadalajara

إذا كان N110 يلعب على نقاط قوة Pagoda ، فإن ما ينتظره كان غير متوقع وأكثر تحديًا. لقد قطعنا شوطا طويلا ، ووصلنا إلى Riaza للتوجه إلى SG-145 قليل السفر. تجنب SG-145 إذا كانت سيارتك حساسة بعض الشيء. إنها عودة إلى الخمسينيات من القرن الماضي مع 70 كيلومترًا من أسوأ سطح طريق رأيناه في أي مكان في إسبانيا. تجاهلت 250SL ذلك ، لذا فقد تراجعت عن وتيرتها واستقرت في كراسيها المريحة ، وتركنا الهيكل يمتص النتوءات والحفر بأسلوب لا يمكن لمعظم دروبتوبس في الستينيات محاكاته.

في منتصف الطريق عبر غابات البلوط والصنوبر ، تتخللها فقط الكنائس الرومانية العرضية وقرى الأشباح المصاحبة لها ، وصلنا إلى أتينزا. كانت أتينزا في السابق مركزًا مهمًا لتجارة الصوف القشتالية ، ولا تزال تتشبث بالحياة أسفل قلعتها الواقعة على قمة تل ، ولكن على بعد 150 كيلومترًا فقط من وسط مدريد ، باستثناء السائح الريفي من حين لآخر ، يبدو ضائعًا للعالم.

تأكل أسبانيا متأخرًا وبحلول الساعة 14.00 نتطلع لإيجاد الغداء. نجده في قرية صغيرة تسمى إيمون في مطعم يسمى 'المقصورة'. من مباهج التجول في إسبانيا أنك ستتمكن من التوقف ارتجالا في معظم الأماكن وإيجاد طعام جيد بأسعار معقولة. يلبي مطعم 'La Cabaña' هذه التوقعات ، ويقدم المأكولات المحلية النموذجية مع الخدمة الودية.

صور: روانويند ويسلر / سونساز / الأماكن المنسية / xuanxu / سيرجيو روماجوزا

تأجير السيارات الكلاسيكية اسبانيا باغودا
كان استقبال Pagoda إيجابيًا كما كان دائمًا في اجتماع السيارات الكلاسيكية المحلية

سيغوينزا: الروعة الدينية

في ذلك الوقت ، إلى سيغوينزا ، عاصمة سيرانيا. كما أثبتنا ، هذا يعني أن سيغوينزا تحكم منطقة غير مأهولة إلى حد كبير ، وهي مهمة قامت بها بشكل مثير للإعجاب منذ أن أنشأها الرومان كنقطة وسط بين معقلهم سرقسطة وميريدا. عندما غادر الرومان ، أصبحت سيغوينزا أسقفية مسيحية مهمة في وقت مبكر ، ظلت حتى يومنا هذا ، وكاتدرائيتها تمنح المدينة تراثًا غنيًا من الفن والعمارة والثقافة والتاريخ ، وهي جوهرة من الحجر الرملي من العصور الوسطى. وهو أمر يستحق البحث عنه.

في الحقيقة نبقى في مكان جميل "بيت ريفي" بالقرب من سيغوينزا ، بيت ريو دولتشي منزل ريفي ساحر وسبا مملوك للقطاع الخاص للزوجين الأنجلو-إسبان بول دراي وأنطونيا باراتا دي لا كروز. عشاق السيارات الكلاسيكية بول (ذوقه للأداء الألماني صنف Youngtimers بوضوح من خلال 16 صمام Golf GTi MkII و Mercedes Benz 500E) قد دعانا سابقًا إلى الاجتماع السنوي لنادي Clásicos de Sigüenza الذي يقام في منتصف يونيو في ظل حديقة وسط المدينة التقليدية . هذا حدث مبهج وودي ، مع مجموعة متنوعة من الكلاسيكيات من مقعد 600 (الذي وضع إسبانيا على عجلات) إلى ميني ، بورش ، ألفاس ، ساب ، ألفيس عتيق (!) وباغودا.

صور: خوسيه إيبانيز / مالايا / سانتياغو لوبيز باستور / كواسيبودو / سيرجيو روماجوزا / راندي هوسكين / تامورلان / نادي سيغوينزا الكلاسيكي

الاستقبال في Pagoda إيجابي أكثر من أي وقت مضى. ينجذب الجميع إلى خفة وأناقة تصميم Paul Bracq ، الذي لم يسبق له مثيل ، ولكنه نجح في إخفاء الهندسة الثقيلة لمرسيدس-بنز في الستينيات. مرغوب فيه ، ولكن ليس طنانًا ، رياضيًا ، ولكن ليس بلا هوادة ، باهظ الثمن ، ولكن لا يمكن الوصول إليه ، يعشق Pagoda من قبل المتفرجين العاديين ويحترمه المتحمسون المطلعون ، حتى أولئك الذين يشعرون عادةً بالفاتر تجاه النجمة الثلاثية.

بعد عطلة نهاية أسبوع طويلة مع Pagoda ، نحن متحمسون لهذا النموذج. أكثر من ذلك عندما يأخذنا طريق العودة عبر عواصف ذات أبعاد توراتية. تم إصلاح غطاء المحرك الآن ، وأصبح Pagoda صديقًا محتاجًا ، ومساحات الزجاج الأمامي claphand تزيل الطوفان ببراعة ، وغطاء من القماش يقاوم أي دخول للمياه ، وهذا الهيكل الصلب يرفض التعرض للضغط لأنه يتعامل مع طريق سريع غمرته المياه ونهاية عطلة نهاية الأسبوع في مدريد . نادرًا ما نشعر بالراحة والثقة عند قيادة سيارة كلاسيكية في ظروف قاسية وصعبة وإعادة السيارة إلى STS بكل ولع وندم.

لقد كانت عطلة نهاية أسبوع رائعة بصحبة جولة كلاسيكية نبيلة ، يمكنك تكرارها من خلال المساعي الحميدة "إسبانيا في مقعدين" خدمة تأجير كلاسيكية. لقد واجهت الشركة مشكلة البحث عن الطرق السياحية الموجودة حول مدريد لأولئك الذين لا يريدون القيام بأشياء خاصة بهم. يتم صيانة أسطول تأجير STS الكلاسيكي بالكامل ، والتأمين عليه ودعمه بمساعدة المساعدة على الطريق. إذا كنت ترغب في القيام بجولة في إسبانيا في سيارة كلاسيكية قابلة للتحويل ، دون الاستثمار والمخاطرة في شراء واستخدام سيارتك الخاصة ، فإن خدمة STS هي الحل الأمثل بالإضافة إلى بديل ممتع للغاية لا يُنسى لاستئجار ديزل حديث.

تأجير السيارات الكلاسيكية اسبانيا باغودا
صمم بول براك عملاً فنياً

ما رأيك؟

الصورة الرمزية

كتبه خافيير روماغوسا

اسمي خافيير روماغوسا. لطالما كان والدي شغوفًا بالسيارات التاريخية وقد ورثت هوايته أثناء نشأتي وسط السيارات الكلاسيكية والدراجات النارية. لقد درست الصحافة وما زلت أفعل ذلك ، لأنني أريد أن أصبح أستاذاً جامعياً وأن أغير العالم ... رؤية المزيد من

التعليقات

اشترك في النشرة الإخبارية

مرة في الشهر في بريدك.

شكرا جزيلا! لا تنس تأكيد اشتراكك من خلال البريد الإلكتروني الذي أرسلناه لك للتو.

حدث خطأ ما. حاول مرة اخرى.

56.5kمراوح
1.7kالمتابعين
2.4kالمتابعين
3.4kالمتابعين

Spain in a Two Seater: Classic Weekend Rental in a Mercedes Pagoda

Thanks to Spain in a Two Seater (STS), we were able to enjoy the center of Spain putting together a 3 day weekend trip...

Retromovil 2019 Medio

Liberty 750×184

TEXT & PHOTOS MERCEDES PAGODA: JAVIER ROMAGOSA

¿Quieres leer este artículo en español? Haz click aquí.

Spain has great scenery to see, great historical sites to visit, great gastronomy to enjoy and – petrolhead heaven!- great roads which link it all together; flowing, well-maintained, pleasingly free of traffic and police. What better than to enjoy all this in a classic convertible?

Thanks to ‘Spain in a Two Seater’ (STS), a classic car rental company based near Madrid, we were able to do just that, putting together a 3 day weekend trip in some of the best of Spain, the provinces of Segovia and Guadalajara which lie to the north east of Madrid. STS´s fleet consists of Alfa Spyder and Duetto, a brace of Morgan Plus 4 but our ride was the jewel in the crown, a beautiful metallic BRG Mercedes 250SL with beige interior and brown hood.

With the benefit of a later 280SL engine and a speed manual, the elegant looks of Mercedes grand tourer would prove the perfect place to see and be seen. From the first, the Pagoda imparted a feeling of confidence and solidity, able to manage everything we threw at it.

Classic Car Rental: Mercedes Pagoda

Leaving STS´s base in Guadarrama at the foot of the Sierra de Madrid early on Friday morning, we headed straight for the mountains: the ancient pass over the ski station of Puerto de Navacerrada, which rises to 1.800 meters. This route through forests of pine trees leads to the Royal Site of La Granja de San Ildefonso, by way of a strong climb and descent of tight bends which include some 2nd gear hairpins. The hood is down and the road surface is excellent encouraging the driver to enjoy the glorious sound of the classic Mercedes six cylinder, which builds speed impressively.

Windows up and hood down, the Pagoda cossets its lucky inhabitants with its solidity and good wind protection. The Pagoda isn´t a sports car which you throw around by the scruff of the neck. It is a heavy and reluctant to respond to harsh treatment or rapid weight transfer when turning or braking, but when treated as it treats you, with finesse and respect, it makes good speed. The car is planted and does what you want. Steering is heavy compared to a modern car but doesn´t overtax the driver in the hairpins. We´re reminded again that the joy of a classic car is that you have to drive it, you grip the wheel, you select the right gear, you brake before the bends and the Pagoda flows with you, rewarding the effort.

Fotos: Luiyo / Dick O’Brien

In less than an hour, flush with the joy of open air motoring in the mountain air, we arrive in La Granja. Putting the top up to secure the car is incredibly easy, so we leave the car to its admirers (there will be so many admirers this weekend!) and go for a walk.

La Granja de San Idelfonso: Royal Summer Palace

At the base of the mountains some 15kms from Segovia, la Granja de San Idefonso was the traditional summer residence of the Spanish royal family in the 18th and 19th centuries. A small town grew around the palace, to house the court and summer visitors. Typical of Spain in that period, French and Italian influences are reflected in the elegance of the architecture. The palace gardens feature spectacular fountains and the town hosts an ancient glass factory.

There is an excellent ‘Parador’ (the chain of heritage luxury hotels run by the state to high international standards) in La Granja, but due to it’s popularity, book in advance.

Fotos: Sergio Romagosa

classic car rental spain pagoda
When treated as it treats you, with finesse and respect, this car does what you want

In the mountains outside Madrid, with its cold winter climate, all meat is well-raised and well-cooked, the specialty is roast lamb and suckling pig (look for restaurants marked «Asador» , which specialise in this, but expect large portions…), and here there is also a fabulous bean stew (Judiones de la Granja) which simply must be tried. In the summer, La Granja was a retreat from the heat of Madrid and the Castillian plain, so salads and lighter dishes are enjoyed in al fresco dining.

Dropping the hood again, the Pagoda starts first time as ever and we head down the CL-601 to Segovia…

Foto: David Corral Gadea

Segovia: World Heritage Site

How to describe Segovia? Spectacular and charming at the same time, Segovia dates back to Roman times and reflects the mark of the varied cultures which have contributed to its 2.000 year history. The Roman period is defined by the spectacular aqueduct at the entrance to the old town. 800 meters long and 3 stories high, the aqueduct towers over one of the city´s most important squares as a testimony to the skill and determination of the Romans. Just below the aqueduct is Candido´s, the most famous restaurant in Segovia which has been serving its roast sucking pig to visitors for 3 generations.

Climbing the hill up into the old town (a pedestrian area with interesting shops, bars and restaurants all the way) leads to the wide and bustling main square, the enormous Gothic cathedral to your left and a massive selection of terraces and restaurants everywhere else, a perfect Gin and Tonic scenario.

Fotos: Santiago López-Pastor

Leaving that temptation for the evening, we carry on down to the third of Segovia´s embematic buildings, the magnificently romantic Alcazar, which sits on the edge of the city, floating above the valley like a great Ocean liner. Itself the location of several films, you feel that this turreted and moated castle must (at least in part) have informed the Disney view of fantasy castles.

And as in the movies, tired but happy we return to our hotel, sadly not in the historic centre of Segovia, a modern hotel with secure parking. We could hardly let the elegant Pagoda sleep in the streets. Anyway, it´ll repay us in full tomorrow.

classic car rental spain pagoda
The Pagoda imparted a feeling of confidence and solidity…

Sure enough, on the second day we take the Pagoda into uncharted territory, the hills of Guadalajara (La Serrania de Guadalajara), the least populated region of Spain, a huge area of unspoilt natural beauty with few roads through it and at its heart, the ancient but little known town of Sigüenza, our next destination.

Leaving Segovia, top down again, the 250SL gets into its stride on the N-110, which is a faster, busier and more open road than yesterday´s mountain routes. The Pagoda loves it. This is a 4 speed manual, so a little under-geared for modern conditions, but the car bounds along at 120 kph. The upside is that slower traffic is easily overtaken on a wall of flexibly delivered power. It is not dramatic, but it is effective and the excellent brakes reinforce the feeling of solid engineering and safe performance.

Into the unknown: The Serrania de Guadalajara

If the N110 was playing to the Pagoda´s strengths, what lay ahead was unexpected and more challenging. We went the long way round, arriving at Riaza to head down the little-travelled SG-145. Avoid the SG-145 if your car is a little bit delicate. It is a throwback to the 1950s with 70 kilometers of the worst road surface that we have seen anywhere in Spain. The 250SL shrugged it off, so dropping the pace and settling down into its comfy armchairs, we let the chassis soak up the bumps and potholes in a style which most 1960s droptops could never emulate.

Midway on a road through oak and pine forests, punctuated only by the occasional Romanic churches and accompanying ghost villages, we reached Atienza. Formerly an important centre for the Castillian wool trade, Atienza still clings to life beneath its hilltop castle, but, only 150 kilometres from the centre of Madrid, except for the occoasional rural tourist, seems lost to the world.

Spain eats late and by 14.00 we´re looking to find lunch. We find it in a little village called Imón at a restaurant called ‘La Cabaña’. One of the joys of touring in Spain is that you will be able to stop impromptu in most places and find good food at reasonable prices. ‘La Cabaña’ meets these expectations, offering typical local fare with friendly service.

Fotos: Rowanwindwhistler / Sonsaz / Los Lugares Olvidados / Xuanxu / Sergio Romagosa

classic car rental spain pagoda
The reception for the Pagoda was as positive as ever at local classic car meeting

Sigüenza: Religious splendour

On then, to Sigüenza, which is the capital of la Serrania. As we have established, this means that Sigúenza rules over a largely uninhabited area, which task it has performed admirably since the Romans established it as the midpoint between their two strongholds of Zaragoza and Merida. When the Romans left, Sigüenza became an important early Christian bishopric, which it has remained until the present day, its Cathedral endowing the town with a rich legacy of art, architecture, culture and history, a preserved medieval sandstone jewel which is well worth seeking out.

In fact we stay at a beautiful ‘Casa Rural’ just near Sigüenza, Casa Rio Dulce a charming country house and spa privately owned by an Anglo-Spanish couple Paul Dray and Antonia Barata de la Cruz. Classic car enthusiast Paul (his taste for German performance Youngtimers clearly stated by a 16 valve Golf GTi MkII and Mercedes Benz 500E) had previously invited us to the annual meeting of Club de Clásicos de Sigüenza which takes place in mid June in the shade of the traditional town centre park. This is a delightfully relaxed and friendly event, with a wide variety of classics from the Seat 600 (which put Spain on wheels) to Minis, Porsches, Alfas, Saabs, a vintage Alvis (!) and our Pagoda.

Fotos: José Ibáñez / Malaya / Santiago López-Pastor / Quasipodo / Sergio Romagosa / Randi Hausken / Tamorlan / Club Clásicos Sigüenza

The reception for the Pagoda is as positive as ever. Everyone is drawn to the lightness and elegance of the Paul Bracq design, which has never dated but which so successfully hides the heavy engineering of a 60s Mercedes-Benz. Desirable, but not pretentious, sporting, but not uncompromising, expensive, but not inaccessible the Pagoda is adored by casual onlookers and respected by knowledgeable enthusiasts, even those who normally feel lukewarm towards the 3 pointed star.

After a long weekend with the Pagoda, we are enthusiastic about the model. Even more so when the route back takes us through storms of biblical proportions. Hood now fixed, the Pagoda becomes a friend in need, claphand windscreen wipers manfully clearing the deluge, fabric hood resisting any ingress of water, and that solid chassis refusing to get stressed as it deals with a flooded highway and end of weekend traffic into Madrid. We have rarely felt so relaxed and confident driving a classic in extreme and difficult conditions and return the car to STS with fondness and regret.

It has been a great weekend in the company of a noble classic tourer, one which you can repeat through the good offices of ‘Spain in a Two Seater’´s classic rental service. The company has gone to the trouble of researching touristic routes based around Madrid for those who do not want to do their own thing. The STS classic rental fleet is fully maintained, insured and backed up by roadside assistance. If you want to tour Spain in a classic convertible, without the investment and risk of buying and using your own car, STS´s service is the perfect solution as well as an extremely pleasant and memorable alternative to renting a modern diesel.

classic car rental spain pagoda
Paul Bracq designed a work of art
Catawiki 750

Sin Comentarios

Deja un comentario

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *

Post anterior:

¿Qué hacer un fin de semana con un Pagoda?

Post siguiente:

Alfa Romeo Spider: En Vídeo